Joomla gallery by

HomeAbout MHCHistoryHistory - Women

History - Women - Page 2

Article Index
History - Women
Page 2
All Pages

Malaysia was represented by two delegates, Miss Vivian Soars (Vice President) and Mrs. Dororthy Sibert Bailey (Hon. Secretary) at the Asian Women’s Hockey Federation Council Meeting at Madras, India from 25th to 27th January, 1975.


In September 1975 Malaysia participated in the IFWHA 1st Women’s World Cup Tournament in Edinburgh, Scotland. Enroute Edinburgh Malaysia visited Denmark where the team played three matches with State and Club sides and which were all won by Malaysia.

At the IFWHA Conference in Edinburgh in 1975 Malaysia was represented by Mrs. P.T. Lingam, PJK and Mrs. Dorothy Sibert Bailey, PJK. Malaysia was requested to look into the possibility of organizing the 3rd World Cup Tournament and Conference and after due consideration Malaysia informed IFWHA in 1976 it would accept the invitation to stage the Tournament and Conference in 1983.

In December 1976 the 7-a-side Inter-States Championship for the Tunku Ampuan Negeri Sembilan Trophy was inaugurated. The 1st 7-a-side meet was an “open tournament” held in Seremban in which Perak, Malacca, Johore, Terengganu, Selangor and Negeri Sembilan participated. Selangor emerged Champions with Negeri Sembilan the Runners-up. The 2nd 7-a-side meet was restricted to affiliates only and it was held in Kuala Lumpur in February 1978 with eight teams participating: Selangor, Negeri Sembilan and Pahang (2 teams each) and Perak and Malacca. Selangor A were Champions with Selangor B Runners-up.

The Association was formally admitted as a member of the International Hockey Federation (FIH) on 27 July 1976 at the Statutory Congress in Montreal, Canada.

In 1975, a new bread of women officials decided to put the Asian body into shape. Under the dynamic leadership of Tok Puan Zainon bte Datuk Hussain, a meeting of representatives from Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia met and a protem committee was set up to draft the Constitution for FALHA.

In December 1976 Malaysia participated in an “International Invitation Tournament” in Hong Kong held in conjunction with the inaugural meeting of the Federation of Asian Ladies Hockey Associations (FALHA). Other participants were Japan, Hong Kong, Singapore, Thailand and Malaysia participated and the Championship was an FIH approved meet. Malaysia finished first, with Japan second and Singapore third. The late Prime Minister of Malaysia, YAB Tun Abdul Razak, donated the Challenge Trophy.

1979 saw the introduction of the Under-23 Tournament for the Tok Puan Zainon’s Challenge Trophy. Five affiliates – Perak, Negeri Sembilan, Penang, Malacca and Pahang participated in the 1st Tournament in Ipoh in December 1979. Perak won the Tournament with Negeri Sembilan Runners-up. In December 1980 five affiliates participated – Perak, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang and Penang. Perak retained the first position with Selangor the Runners-up. Indoor hockey was also introduced in 1979 and the game has gained popularity in Kuala Lumpur. Over the years, the Malaysian Women’s Hockey Association has continuously researched the domestic tournament structure to introduce new and important elements.  In the year 2001 two major domestic tournaments were introduced. Both were realized by the strong support from the National Sports Council and Nestle. The tournaments were the National Junior League and the Raja Noora Ashikin Cup.  Both tournaments were introduced to cultivate and encourage the development of a strong club based platform.

In 1982, Malaysia participated in the Asian Games, New Delhi, India. It was the first time the women’s hockey event was introduced in the Asian Games. Malaysia had an impressive outing in the tournament and won the bronze medal.  In 1991, Malaysian participated in the Indra Gandhi Cup, Chandigarh, India.  The South East Asia (SEA) Games have always been an important tournament for Malaysia. The Malaysian women’s team have managed to have a commendable record in these Games which includes winning the Silver medal (Singapore (1993), Chiang Mai (1995)) and the Gold medal in the following three consecutive years (Jakarta (1997), Brunei (1999) and Kuala Lumpur (2001).

Malaysian sports had experienced a shift of management paradigm in 1994, when Malaysia was given the honour to host the Commonwealth Games.  The preparations for the national teams were converted into full-time programs. The Malaysian women’s team were part of this large project.  In the year 2001, the Malaysian team qualified for the World Cup Qualifiers in Amiens, France.  Another important tournament is the junior and elite Asia Cup. Malaysia was promoted from the Division 2 to Division 1 in 1997 (Singapore). Since then Malaysia has featured in all Asia Cup tournaments. The Association played host for the 1983 Continental and World Cup, 1992 and 2000 Regional World Cup Qualifiers (Asia Cup).

The Malaysian Women’s Hockey Association received recognition for the efforts to promote hockey among girls and women.  The International Olympic Committee (IOC) awarded the Women in Sports Award for Asia to the Malaysian Women’s Hockey Association in the year 2001.

Last Updated on Saturday, 20 October 2012 08:16



Our Partners

Free business joomla templates